Banana and Oats with Chocolate Chips Muffins.

As the season has changed and the weather starts to cool off, I love to warm the house up and bake! We don’t mind the amazing smells sneaking out of the oven either. Baking has always been a favorite of mine, I remember as far back as being a child and whipping up goodies with my Grandfather. I tend to rattle my brain and search the internet and collect recipes that I just know I want to give a go at. I found this particular muffin and knew I had to make it for my boys. They could not get enough! I mean chocolate.. come on now. 

Disclaimer: This is not my original recipe. I do not take ownership of this recipe.

I have made some of my own tweaks..  which are obvious with my *side notes. 

but I do give full credit where it is due. Thank you

The original recipe belongs to Well Traveled Wife.

Ingredients:

  • 2.5 cups old fashioned oats
  • 1 cup of plain low fat Greek yogurt *(I used Silk yogurt, I was trying to stray away from using dairy)*
  • 2 eggs *(I did not use eggs. I used ground up flax seed as an egg substitute. For every 1 egg you need replace with 1 tbsp ground flax with 3 tbsp water and let  sit for 10 minutes until it turns gel like)*
  • 3/4 cup of sugar (or sweetener of choice)
  • 1.5 tsp of baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 ripe bananas *(I was actually running low on bananas so I actually just used one and it still tasted yummy)*
  • chocolate chips (optional)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Spray tin with non-stick cooking spray or line 12 muffin tins with silicone or foil liners. *(I sprayed my tin with a coconut oil spray)*

2. Place all of the ingredients, including bananas in a blender or food processor, and blend until oats are smooth. {I added the oats a cup at a time and blended in between}

3. Divide batter among cupcake liners, and bake for 15-20 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean.

**Be sure to watch them closely in the oven, because depending on altitude, baking time may be a little less**

4. Most importantly: Enjoy & try not to eat them all at once!

This is what they looked like fresh out of the oven. Not only were they moist, filling, most of all delicious! The kids and I enjoyed them warm.

Note: I did add my own topping. I wanted to give these already tasty muffins a bit of a crunch on top! So here is what I did.

 

Brown sugar and cinnamon topping:

  • 2 1/2 tsp of brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  1. In a small bowl with a spoon mix together the brown sugar and the cinnamon
  2. Just before you pop your muffins into the oven sprinkle the mixture on top of each one

{I did not go overboard cause I still wanted to be able to taste the banana goodness. }

This is what they looked like fresh out of the oven. Not only were they moist, filling, most of all delicious! The kids and I enjoyed them warm.

 

 

20131008_155751_1

 

 

Let me tell you, with the cinnamon and banana baking away it made the house smell divine!

Even with the original recipe, take notice that there was no flour, eggs *(in my case)*, or milk *(unless you stick to using Greek yogurt)* used.  I tried as close as I could to give my own twist and keep this a dairy free recipe. It would be labeled vegan but I could not pass up throwing chocolate chips in.

I really hope you try out this muffin recipe for yourself! I did and I cannot wait to make these again.. maybe next time I will fight the urge to add chocolate 😉

-Sylvia

Leave a Reply

