Pumpkin Stuffed Puffed Pastries.

I’ve been pretty much overdosing on pumpkin this year, blame the change of season but we just can’t get enough.

I had some leftover puree in the fridge and I had to use it before it went bad.. so I naturally thought I’ll just stuff it in something and call it a day. I cleaned out my freezer and found some frozen puffed pastry sheets and BOOM, I had an idea.

Please, do not confuse these with the Pumpkin Pop Tarts recipe going around.. The texture is way different almost like a biscuit but even better!

Note: These are vegan! I took the time to look up Pepperidge farm puffed pastry sheets and to my own surprise.. they are labeled under VEGAN.

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup of pumpkin puree
  • 1 sheet of puffed pastry (I bought Pepperidge farm and it came with 2 frozen sheets)
  • 1/4 tsp of cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp of pumpkin pie spice
  • 2 tbsp of brown sugar

Directions:

  1. Thaw out your puffed pastry until soft. It takes about 40 minutes
  2. Preheat oven to 400*
  3. In a medium size bowl, mix together the cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, and brown sugar
  4. Spread out the thawed pastry on a clean flat surface
  5. Using a pumpkin shaped cookie cutter cut out as many pumpkins as you can (I got about 10, because my pastry was not that big)
  6. With a knife just using the tip cut out a little jack o’ lantern face (I only made five faces, because I had to use the other five pumpkins for the bottoms)
  7. Place down a faceless pumpkin and spread out about 1 tbsp of the filling
  8. Dip your index finger in water and use your finger and lightly brush the edges of the pumpkin to act as a “glue”
  9. Put the other pumpkin with the face on top and gently press the two together
  10. Place pumpkins on parchment paper and bake for 15 minutes until lightly brown
  11. Let cool and enjoy!

20131016_161459_1

I absolutely loved these. My kids ate them all up! They are so fluffy and soft on the inside and just the right texture on the outside.. it’s a perfect treat.  Keep in mind that you can make these for pretty much any holiday, just use the appropriate cookie cutter and whatever you want for a filling. Please, give these a try and thank me later!

-Sylvia

Leave a Reply

