Homemade Pita Chips.

HELLO! Excuse all the caps but I have not updated my blog in FOR-EV-ER.

Why? Well, I don’t even know where to begin. If it’s not one thing it’s another, right? So, I’ll just leave it at I am back in action and plan on updating much more. I have tons to blog about and can’t wait to share.

Let’s begin!! Shall we?!

My kids and I love pita chips, whenever we crave them I just pick up a bag at the store & call it a day! How boring. Usually they lack in flavor, not even crunchy, and overall just not the best. One day we had a bunch of hummus and just my luck the bag of pita chips I had were all stale.. Gross! I did have a pack of pita bread in my pantry so I decided to make my own, we all loved it and I plan on making these again.

Ingredients:

  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1 tsp of salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp of ground cumin
  • Pack of pita bread (You can use pita pockets as well, just cut them up)

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees
  2. Cut your pita bread into wedges (Or triangles.. whatever you want)
  3. On a baking sheet using a cooking brush (Or you can use cooking spray or even just drizzling the oil) spread some olive oil on both sides of the pita wedges
  4. Sprinkle on the cumin, salt, and finish off with cracked pepper
  5. Bake in the oven for about 8-10 minutes
  6. Allow to cool before eating

 

20131024_174920_1

These pita chips have just the right amount of zing from the cumin! Feel free to add as much or as little as you’d like. I can’t wait to experiment and mix up different spices.. you never know what you’re gonna get but with these chip, you can’t go wrong! Enjoy

-Sylvia

Leave a Reply

